Today in 1803 at New Orleans, Louisiana, Spanish representatives officially transfered the Louisiana territory (New Spain) to France. Just 20 days later, France transfered possession of the same territory to the United States under the Louisiana Purchase. Now WE know em

Louisiana (New Spain) had been under Spanish possession sing the 1763 Treaty of Paris that ended the Seven Year’s War. Then the Third Treaty of San Ildefonso (formally titled the […]

Read Article →